Page 1 of 67 123456789101112131415161718192051 ... LastLast

Thread: I'm tired of reused Inventory Graphics..

I'm tired of reused Inventory Graphics..

Hi All,

I've been playing for close to 5 years now, and one thing that has always rubbed me the wrong way about AO is the reuse of the same inventory graphic and simply renaming it.. Look I found a Juggler's treat, errm wait it's an OT ring, no,.. it's an augmented OT ring, nooo, it's a Notum ring.. hmm they all look the same.. grrrrrrrr

I did some serious searching and found that there are only 29 unique 'Ring Graphics' in the game but several hundred different named rings in the game. I'm a gaming artist and it always bugged me that the little details like this get pushed aside and claims of it would take too long to fill in the blank Inventory item slots for 'reused graphics'. I say that's Horse Hockey! Today I decided to see how long it would take me to make 29 new rings for use as inventory graphics (matching the current number of rings graphics in the game).. just making rings off and on through the day, an estimated 6-7 hours of actual work and I got 29 new rings made.

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f2...wAO_Rings1.jpg

AO rings on the left and the new rings I made on the right. (I included 2 larger renderings of rings so you can see the quality of the work)

I'd estimate that about a single week would be needed, and only one artist to finally put the reused graphics 'bug' to sleep once and for all. no more repetitive use of the same graphic in your inventory, no more accidently scraping your Biocomm processing what you thought was a monster part but actually was a half digested body part...

Funcon, please take care of the age old eyesore. fill in the holes in your items database.. for the love of AO, do it now!