Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What hooked you?

What hooked you?

Speaking with my guildies on guild chat one evening when nothing was happening, some of started to talk about how we started in AO, and what it was that hooked us. The golden memories as it were, when you were a total n00b out of the backyard and knew absolutely noone.

So I thought I'd start a positive thread, and get people to talk about their first AO kick, and why they got so hopelessly hooked.

I'll start:

Total noobie, lvl 20's or so adv, had taken a mission in Wailing Wastes that was FAR away from the whompa (and remember how INCREDIBLY far away everything was when you were new?),
    but with the compass and map I managed to find (and indeed get to alive) the mission area. Finished the mission, yellow line on the compass is GONE!

Where did I come from? No idea, hadn't even heard of Dovve's then, and the default AO map is about as useful as lead lifebelt. Hadn't paid attention to which direction I had come from, and so of course I got horribly lost. The sand storm didn't help either... Close to tears, having taken an hour to get TO the mission, then an hour doing it (very carefully, I had figured out by now I could lose XP) and then running around for another hour in a sandstorm with no idea where the whompa was, and 90% of a lvls worth of unsaved XP.

Then the sandstorm cleared, it was night time and I panned the camera up to see a beautiful night sky with two moons, and I swear it sent shivers down my spine! I must have looked at it, and looked around for 10-15 minutes just soaking it all in, it was so beautiful.

Finally I thought of scrambling up a hill, take a proper look around, and far away I thought I could see the antennas of the WW whompah, so I set out in that direction, and finally made it home.