Thread: Pets in solo missions

Pets in solo missions

Originally posted by Ityn
    Also give missions an "Intelligence" slider. Middle is normal exp, mobs as they are now, "Stupid" mobs never cast anything but give 25% less exp and 50% less exp reward, and "Smart" mobs use all their nanos and use the right ones for the right things, cooperate, cast pets act just like players, and give 25% more exp and 50% more exp reward.
    This is the best idea on the subject that I've heard yet.

I liked seeing pets in solo missions (after the emergency tweak anyway) for a number of reasons. For one thing, I was used to seeing Docs and Adventurers heal, as well as seeing Fixers root and Agents DOT etc. It seemed logical that pet casters should use their pets. The other reason was that, as an Engineer I could tank the things and didn't bother moving my difficulty slider one notch after the patch.

However, as a Soldier I hated the things. I could tank the owner before the bot took me down, but only with the aid of a good reflect and probably a dose of TMS as well. That meant that the bot took damage from me, and would invariably stay to finish me off after its beloved owner had been reduced to a greasy spot on the carpet.

The paradox is that with pets gone from solo missions, the Soldier can tackle tougher missions than the Engineer can, because he's better equipped for surprise aggro etc. It gets even worse if I'm playing my Fixer...

People have suggested a device which makes you appear as more than one player to a mob, but it never quite worked for me. I may like pets in solo missions (sometimes) but even I want to gain some advantage from it other than bragging rights and an interesting set of scars. Having a Difficulty slider (level of mobs) and an Intelligence slider (behaviour of mobs) on the mission terminal, both of which are linked to reward and XP, gives the best of both worlds.