Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Load more stuff at startup

Lightbulb Load more stuff at startup

When You just log on to the game, it stutters a bit for the first few minutes. Every time a new person comes into view there's a small pause when the graphics are loaded. After a few minutes it runs pretty smooth because all the graphics has loaded. And some modem users even get disconnected if they happen to run past a mob during the first few seconds because of this loading pause.

SUGGESTION: Make an option to load it ALL at startup! Of course this is only for the people with LOTS of memory. But then again, memory is very cheap these days. And I think it could really save the game for those modem users. Being a former programmer myself, I even think it's a pretty easy thing to do. You just load all the stuff, using the code that is already there for it. That shouldn't take more than a few minutes to code for an experienced programmer
    Ghump - a member of Ragnarok

My hovercraft is full of eels

Talking

*Bump for Ghump!*

~*~
    *~*THYME*~*
    ~*Taboo's Views On Templus*~
    " "He is just a moron .You know he really isnt in the military, he is a 48 y/o man living in his parents basement who cant get laid & therefore hates all women and feels he has to belittle them because he cant get his lil peepee wet"

Phew! Thanks Thyme.

31 ppl reading my thread and not 1 comment. I was beginning to think I was way wrong.

I have no idea how much something like this will help the game, but I'm thinking it can never hurt. And every little drop helps

I agree.

It's not like the game runs well or anything as it is right now.

I have an old Ahtlon 660Mhz with 512 MB Ram and it still lags like madness. A lot of that could be solved if it just leaded the darn textures so it wouldn't have to access the harddrive constantly.

Especially textures and models related to weapons, player character models and such, since that is most often what is seen repeatedly.