Thread: melee vs ranged while moving

Question melee vs ranged while moving

I am rather new to this game and feel that I enjoy it tremendously. But when I read the different threads on the forum I feel pity for some reason. Many complain about their classes and on class equipment/nano/weapons and so on. After all, it is supposed to be differences between the classes, as there should be differences when choosing if you want to go melee or ranged. But when ranged becomes close combat and melee becomes ranged I think something is amiss.

1. I wonder why it is possible to run after someone and stab them in melee, but its not possible to run after someone while shooting.
    2. I also wonder at what range melee is allowed. It seems to me that melee combat is within the same range as ranged combat, although I cant tell for sure since the greatest range I have had was around 18 metres when this happened to me.

If I head back to the first question, I dont know what all other think of it, but my concern is that it is something that provide a tremendous advantage for melee based characters + it is a sure playerkiller when one tries to flee from a place and a mob is following you (if the mob is melee based and faster than you I buy it), however if the mob is as fast or slow as you he should NOT be able to do that. If we look on a ranged based mob, or player, it is only a matter of aiming to shoot the fleeing person.

Now for my final thought, If there are people that feel that my thoughts are completely out of the sky then tell me why. If you agree let me know as well. What I am looking for is some kind of reality in the game. A gun (any) hit you at a distance of 30 feet without problem, a clenhed fist or quarterstaff wont succeed in that I promise.