Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Balancing Breeds thru ability score "dribble down"

Balancing Breeds thru ability score "dribble down"

This is just an idea for all of you to pick apart.

When I first started AO (2nd day of release) I was under the impression that the final color of any skill was determined by the combination of your Breed with your Profession. As you all know, this is not the case, skill color is determined solely by Profession so that an Atrox NT and Nanomage NT both have Green nano skills.

Funcom has stated they want to avoid changing the color of skills due to IP reasons, but it *may* still be possible for Breed to determine your skill levels by adjusting how much your base Ability scores add "dribble down" points to any particular skill.

For example:

1) FC adjusts it so that raising your breed's Green Ability scores will add TWICE the amount of dribble down to all skills reliant on them.

2) In contrast, FC can make it so that breeds get no dribble down effects from any Dark Blue ability scores.

3) Normal Blue scores give normal dribble down.

Take an Opifex for example.

In the end game, they would gain about 105 points to all their evade skills and weapon initiatives. They will get moderate to enormous boosts (+50-120-ish) to all Agility/Sense related weapons and special attacks like Rifle, Bow, Pistol..etc. They would get moderate to enormous boosts to Navigation and Spying skills as well. Burst gets a small boost. Fling Shot and Multi-Wield get huge boosts (+120-ish). Assault Rifle gets a very small boost. Treatment and First Aid get moderate boosts.

They would absorb a huge penalty to Body Development (-115-ish). They would take moderate penalties in all stamina related weapons including all melee weapons except for 1HE and Piercing. The changes to the SMG skill would be negligable. Full Auto takes a moderate hit.