Page 1 of 10 12345678910 LastLast

Thread: Traders and PvP

Traders and PvP

Obviously the original thread got out of hand. But because I believe it is an important issue, I would like to start over and have a decent discussion about it.

To start, I love AO, It's the only game i've been playing since 07/22/2001. I've played others since then but always end up wanting to play AO again. I've played other MMPORPGs but I'm not impressed yet.

Neocron is dreadful and Asherons Call looks nice but gameplay is missing something to me... I always enjoy my time playing AO and the people I get to hang out with.

That said, there are just somethings that I feel are not right. I am not the only person that feels this way, nor is soldier the only profession.

Many professions have had adjustments to further balance the game for everyone. I thought that traders were unbalanced before, and it bothered me. I made my own trader to see for myself and leveled to 74 (PvP twink - who hasn't made a trader PvP twink?) So I have seen first hand, both sides.

It is not the traders fault, but everytime something is adjusted in the game, something else goes. The trader heal nerf came the same time that the OE patch came.

I thought for sure that I would be gimped in PvP with my trader then... that was not so, I was even more powerful... At level 74 I was able to get off two drains, one plunder and one divest which would OE my opponents but at the same time make my QL 190 Windchaser usable at 100%. I didn't even need heals in PvP because my opponent could almost never hit me... My evades after the drains were nearly twice thier debuffed attack.

Some high level traders will say that I should have leveled my trader to 175+ to know anything about traders. I have knowledge of high level traders from dueling them with my soldier level 167.