Thread: Story help

Story help

Im kinda new to AO(started a week ago) but ive been playing MMORPGs for awhile now. I bought AO because first of all its a great game, but also because it had a real ongoing story. Since im kinda coming into the game late, i was wondering if i could get some help on understanding how the story influences the game. Ive read the news and political stuff, but how does this affect my character personally? Also, how can i get involved in the war and political struggle? Any help in this would be appreciated.

Film director extraordinairre RandaZ's Avatar
    Welcome Elaynia,

The story you read on the official website in most cases only provide a backdrop for your actions and interactions in AO. Occasionally (if you're not in RK2 - j/k ) you might get to interact with one of the story-events (i.e. Dust Brigade attacks).

For roleplaying purposes, I suggest that you figure out a personality for your character first, and then worry about how that character interacts with the news. It doesn't have to be too detailed as in, "I'm all despondent and moody because in 29742 I stumped my toe on the statue of Goddess Buffy Summers located in the Rome-Green's furniture store."

Just use big, broad strokes. "I like this, I like that" As your character responds to the world some more, it'll begin to flesh out. Why did I say all that when you asked for how the news and events affects your character? Well, too many people seem to have been waiting for the story to TELL them how to roleplay their characters. Those people have either quit, moved to whining topics, or are still patiently waiting.

The sooner you realize that the story isn't provided here to give you a narrative on my character "Joe Schmoe", the sooner the world of rubi-ka opens up. You'll be far less frustrated if you just react consistently with your character to what the world throws at you than waiting for some ARK or GM to descend from the heavens to tap you on your shoulder.