I think it best to have this written down, lest it is forgotten one day as I have forgotten so many things.

I am a Doctor. A true doctor, a credit to my profession. This is one of the few things I know.

But let me start from the beginning.

Some sixty years ago I awoke in an operating theater, devoid of any memories of myself. The attendants watching over me told me that the operation was successful, though at the time I did not know what they meant. I was summoned to the office of some surgeon, who explained to me what had happened.

In my early twenties, I had attended Omni-Med Academy. One of the more popular students there, I was told; friendly and outgoing. Not the best, but good enough to be considered for a special project. The goal was to transform the subject, -me-, into the ultimate expert of the profession with the help of a few implants. Apparently, so I was told, I agreed to this procedure. Also apparently, I had been told that I would have no memories prior the operation, and had still agreed. Sixty years later, today, I still do not know the truth.

All I know for certain is that I was left a nearly empty shell. Implants filled with medical databases and treatment methods replaced most of my organs. I was left with no digestive system (instead, a nutrient nano-factory feeds me), rudimentary emotions, and body more metaplastic than flesh.